Teaching basic lab skills
for research computing

Carpentries Career Pathways Panel - Marianne Corvellec, Bernhard Konrad, Aleksandra Pawlik

Wednesday, Mar 1, 3pm PST / 6pm EST / 11pm UTC / 9am AEST (next day)

On Wednesday, March 1, the Carpentries will host the second of three Career Pathway Panels, where members of the Carpentry communities can hear from three individuals in careers that leverage teaching experience and Carpentry skills. (Note: The date of this second panel was shifted from the originally-proposed date of Feb 22 due to scheduling considerations.)

Anyone who has taught at a Carpentry workshop in the last three months is invited to join, and should register by Monday, February 27 in order to be invited to the call. Registration is limited to 20 people per session, so please only commit if you are sure you will attend. Attendees can register for any number of these sessions. Each session will last one hour and will feature a different set of panelists. The final session will occur on Tuesday, March 21 at 3pm PST (panelists TBA).

For the March 1 session, we are excited to be joined by the below panelists!

Marianne Corvellec

Marianne earned a PhD in statistical physics in 2012. She now works as a data scientist at CRIM, a semi-public research centre in Montréal, Canada. She specializes in data analysis and software development. Before joining CRIM, she worked at three different web startups. She speaks or teaches at local and international tech events on a regular basis. Her interests include data visualization, signal processing, inverse-problem approach, assessment, free software, open standards, best practices, and community management.

Bernhard Konrad

Bernhard attended a SWC workshop in 2012 during his graduate studies, and was immediately fascinated by the world of opportunities and productivity that these software tools opened up. He taught a dozen workshops since, and started to work on software-related personal side projects. Bernhard then went to Insight Data Science, a Data Science fellowship in Silicon Valley. After interviewing with a few companies and after a complicated work permit process, he started his job as a Software Engineer at Google in early 2016. There, he develops internal tools for engineering productivity.

Aleksandra Pawlik

Aleksandra Pawlik is the Research Communities Manager at the New Zealand eScience Infrastructure (NeSI). Before joining NeSI in 2016 she worked for three years at the University of Manchester, UK for the Software Sustainability Institute where she was leading the Institute’s training activities. Software and Data Carpentry has been always a big part of her professional activities and allowed Aleksandra develop a range of skills, understand the research ecosystem and meet a number of amazing and inspirational people.

Dialogue & Discussion

You can review our commenting policy here.